Public Relations Perception Management

GE  |  EN
{alt_title}
 

Research

City of Schlieren


Fact or fiction: learning more through surveys

For years, the town of Schlieren had a notoriously bad reputation – poor quality housing, carved up by roads, a high proportion of foreign nationals in the population and loss of workplaces due to industrial flight.

The town council felt that this was undeserved, and so decided to step up communications. The plan was to start with a survey to determine what the perception actually was. The results of the study were intended to form the basis for formulating the communications strategy.

cometris was engaged to carry out this online survey and a 2,000-strong panel from the cantons of Zürich and Aargau was used to test how the town was perceived by external target groups. The internal perspective was provided by a panel of around 300 manufacturers and traders, town employees, politicians and other personalities resident in Schlieren, with the results presented at a public town council meeting.

Public Relations Perception Management

DE  |  EN
{alt_title}
 

Research

Stadt Schlieren


Dichtung und Wahrheit: Mehr erfahren dank Umfragen

Die Stadt Schlieren hatte über Jahre einen notorisch schlechten Ruf (schlechte Wohnqualität, von Strassen entzweigeschnitten, hoher Ausländeranteil an der Wohnbevölkerung, Arbeitsplatzverlust nach Wegzug der Industrie).

Zu unrecht, sagte sich der Stadtrat und beschloss deshalb seine Kommunikationsmassnahmen zu verstärken. Gleich zu Beginn sollte mit einer Umfrage festgestellt werden, wie die Wahrnehmung tatsächlich war. Die Ergebnisse der Studie sollten die Grundlage zur Formulierung der Kommunikationsstrategie bilden.

cometris führte diese Online-Umfrage durch. Über ein rund 2000-köpfiges Panel aus den Kantonen Zürich und Aargau wurde getestet, wie externe Zielpublika die Stadt wahrnehmen. Die interne Sicht lieferte ein Panel mit rund 300 Adressen von Gewerbetreibenden, Mitarbeitenden der Stadt, Politikerinnen und Politikern sowie weiteren Persönlichkeiten, die in Schlieren leben. Die Resultate wurden im Rahmen einer öffentlichen Sitzung dem Parlament präsentiert.